… a thought making crooked all that is straight.

Chakras: Visuddha

Chakras are centres of energy which govern certain zones of the body; they convey energy between dimensions (or planes of existence) and are centres of subtle forces, the generation of prana (energy) and higher consciousness.

The Visuddha is located opposite the throat in the neck. The lotus is grey or silver (sometimes a smoky-purple) and has 16 petals. These petals contain seven musical notes, poison and nectar and seven “calls” for the purposes of exorcism, sacrifice, fire ceremonies, self-determination, blessings and exaltations. This suggests the beginning of priestly or occult power.

The chakra is associated with the conquest of the ethereal state of matter and is commonly equated with the expression of creative activity and inspiration, as well as the capacity to receive nurturing, specifically the contact with the inner unlimited source of “grace”.

Energising this chakra may involve devotional practices such as ritual, prayer, chanting,  sound vibration and creative expression.

The god of this chakra is Siva in half-male, half-female form (Adrhanariswara) sitting on a white elephant accompanied by the yellow-coloured goddess Sakini Sakti with four hands. He is master of diverse knowledge; she reigns in the lunar region.

Meditating on this chakra reportedly brings one to the threshold of great liberation.

Visuddha Chakra

Visuddha Chakra

See also

Chakras: Muladhara

Chakras: Svadhisthana

Chakras: Manipura

Chakras: Anahata

Sat Nam


Information source: Energies of Transformation, A Guide to the Kundalini Process, by Bonnie Greenwell PhD.

Comments are closed.